Take a look back through time at a couple of Windsor’s most iconic historic commercial buildings.
144 Poquonock Ave.
This was the location of a grist mill run by Windsor founder and first minister, John Warham. For almost 300 years it stayed a mill, but all of the original structure and mill machinery has been replaced by subsequent owners. Earl Simons built the current building around 1869. During the mid-20th century, the businesses inside evolved from grains to hardware. The building has been in the hands of the Larsen Hardware family for three generations now.
192 Broad St.
What now houses the Global Driving School was originally known as the Mullaley building, an early Irish-owned grocery and general store, built in 1874. For decades, it went through different grocery store iterations, after which it housed two car dealerships: Urweider Chevolet and Chorches Motors. Most Windsor baby boomers would probably associate this location with King’s Electric, which had a steady run from 1955-1979, but before that, various versions of Dillon’s Market (formerly Dillon & Lennox, then Dillon & Wilhelm) occupied the premises.
By Michelle Tom, librarian/archivist, 2016